Author Topic: The Bell Hotel Leicester  (Read 16761 times)

the_motownman

Re: The Bell Hotel Leicester
« Reply #15 on: 23:15:16, 26/03/12 »
a relative worked on the demolition of most of leicester. he gat it from one of the other lads that was collecting bit for scrap.

dave wainwright

« Reply #16 on: 23:24:52, 15/01/13 »
I worked as a commis chef in the 60s..
under a great head chef ..Mike Dean-Smith
it was a great hotel in those days
would love to hear from anyone who worked there..

TINAHARRISON

« Reply #17 on: 17:49:23, 02/02/13 »
hi...very interested in any information at all that you remember about the bell...i have been looking for a steve kelly? may have also been a chef in 1968....possibly left in 1969...played the guitar....links to london....do you remember him?also do you know if there are any records with regards to the owner...if you have any photos at all that would be great! have a look on my other searches as i have hadsome feeda back that you may find interesting...also ther are records of the land lords too!! this is a personal and very special search...any help....memories...pics..people would surely help to build the peices that are currently missing from a huge puzzle! hope to keep in touch...happy searching and welcome to leicester fo forum!!!

dave wainwright

« Reply #18 on: 20:46:18, 02/02/13 »
Hi Tina sorry i cant remember the name...then again its a long time ago...but if i do remember correctly there was a Steve who worked in the pastry section....
at that time the hotel was owned by Trust House.which became trust house forte...
i remember the second chef was named Bill...and came from Antigua..his brother was also the breakfast chef..
there was also a little kitchen porter called Ali....worked ever hour there was apart from when he was praying...lol
if i remember  correctly the head waiter was called Mr Glass.
i do remember a couple of waitresses...one called Jayne Hisllop who was crowned the Miss Rose Of England