Author Topic: Baileys night club  (Read 22898 times)

albagman

Re: Baileys night club
« Reply #15 on: 18:25:29, 28/04/11 »
i worked as a waiter there in 1977 dave bogis dave sprowl  frank halford chico etc all the usual suspects.
great place to work

gres E

« Reply #16 on: 21:03:49, 28/04/11 »
yes, I remember Dave Bogis, the Sprowl, and Frank Halford well. You must have worked out of the waitress bar, down near the stage.
The lease is still up for grabs, but, sadly, the night club days are long gone.
Don't know if anyone remembers Dave, the keyboard player in the band. He would have been sixty at Christmas, but unfortunately passed away in October.

albagman

« Reply #17 on: 22:30:43, 28/04/11 »
no there was a kitchen bang facing the stage next to the stairs to go up to the balcony, two chefs richard and david read ran the kitchen, spent a few happy hours down in phase 2 if you remember what that was.
there was a bouncer with a large growth on his neck, cant remember his name.
alphonso was also there as a bouncer, and later in life i bumped in to chico he went into the building trade

gres E

« Reply #18 on: 08:53:32, 30/04/11 »
Yes I remember Richard and the 'staff suppers'.
The bouncer with the lump on his neck told me that it happened when he jumped out of a plane doing a parachute jump. Can't remember his name, though.
I only went down to phase two a couple of times, to help Roy, the maintenance guy, move some old tables around.

albagman

« Reply #19 on: 19:46:12, 30/04/11 »
Only reason I ever went down phase 2 was when one of our female clients needed a little extra service :D

riomick123

« Reply #20 on: 14:28:47, 01/05/11 »
I remember Chico, Alphonso. Can anyone tell me what year did heatwave appear at Bailys??

riomick123

« Reply #21 on: 14:35:53, 01/05/11 »
Did'nt Frank Halford open  The wine bar on High st ??

mandy stock

« Reply #22 on: 23:33:00, 09/05/11 »