Author Topic: House prices in Leicester  (Read 1670 times)

luci

House prices in Leicester
« on: 13:41:02, 06/10/10 »
I've been renting a flat for a couple of years. it's a nice place but small which is ok for me. however I have been desperately trying to get on the housing ladder. Prices have dropped slightly, but even the cheapest houses in a semi-decent area are still to much for me to afford a mortgage. Will house prices ever return to sanity?                   

Chris

• Administrator
Re: House prices in Leicester
« Reply #1 on: 20:31:29, 13/10/10 »
Hi Luci,

Welcome to the forum.

I think you are right about the housing market being overheated. It goes up and down in cycles lasting around 10-15 years. House prices go up, eventually becoming unaffordable. Then wages catch up and prices start to look affordable again. And so the cycle continues. I reckon we are now on the downward leg of the cycle.

What kind of house are you looking for?

El Dude

« Reply #2 on: 12:51:06, 18/10/10 »
I've been renting a flat for a couple of years. it's a nice place but small which is ok for me. however I have been desperately trying to get on the housing ladder. Prices have dropped slightly, but even the cheapest houses in a semi-decent area are still to much for me to afford a mortgage. Will house prices ever return to sanity?

Do you think you have a god-given right to own a house, no matter how little you earn?

flyer

« Reply #3 on: 18:26:11, 27/10/10 »
yes

luci

« Reply #4 on: 19:38:31, 29/10/10 »
I dont think I have any god given right. But is it too much too ask for prices to return to what they were say 10 yrs ago?

Chris, a decent two bed terrace house or town house would be nice. Not bothered about the area, so long as not a slum. But theres nothing really below 70,000, the most I can get a morgage for.

flyer

« Reply #5 on: 11:33:27, 01/11/10 »